Another MC brake question

All Models and Years
bas123

Another MC brake question

Post by bas123 »

Hi all; I'm new to post, I just did discover this site and think it is great. I'll get some pictures of my car and post shortly. My question -I have a EM 64 Monza that I have been working at replacing all of the wheel cylinders and upgrading the MC with a new duel system kit from Clarks. I read as many of the blogs here before regarding bench top bleeding and wheel bleed orientation etc. I replaced all of the rubber hoses and have tried bleeding the brakes twice already, yet I still have mushy brakes. I noticed at the last go around (when I left the cover off of the MC) that when pressing the brake pedal, that the MC has a fountain of brake fluid shooting up from the center orifices. I did not notice this before as I'm usually working at the wheel and I cover the MC with the cap. Is this normal? (and of course my son never mentioned this as he is pressing the brake) I have bleed brakes before but I do not recall ever seeing this occur. I asked Clark if this was normal and they responded that I need to bleed the brakes again. Any thoughts? is the MC defective? is there a way to check and see if the MC is allowing blow back when I depress the pedal.
thanks for your help
tiger13

Re: Another MC brake question

Post by tiger13 »

Yes, a small spurt of fluid coming up is normal. When I bench bleed a new master cylinder, I try to find plugs that fit the outlet holes, and put them in, then fill the master, then slowly, SLOWLY pump the cylinder while it is in a vise using a large Philips screw driver being careful not to gouge the bore and watch for the tiny bubbles to come up from the the inlet hole. You can tell when your master cylinder is fully bled out because there will first be no more little air bubbles coming up, and secondly, you will not be able to push in the Philips screw driver, it should be rock hard. At this time your master cylinder is now bench bled.