New guy with a few questions.....

All Models and Years
exhogflyer

New guy with a few questions.....

Post by exhogflyer »

Thanks in advance for the help, longtime lurker and finally came out of the woods. I'm a new owner of a 1965 Monza 140 HP that will need some work over the winter.I'm a long time mechanic, no stranger to old vehicles but haven't tinkered with a 'vair since high school days, and boy are there a lot of changes! Now, to my questions: I've upgraded the ignition plate to the Pertronix 2 system and matching coil. The instructions want the resistance wire eliminated to the coil positive, and a Corvair book I have mentions running a non resistance wire, but for the life of me I can't find WHERE it starts from. Does anyone know? The old corvair schematic is not very good.
Question 2: I will need to have the heads redone as cylinder #1 is ZERO and cylinder #6 is maybe 40. What shop can folks recommend that KNOWS vair head work?
Question #3 I'm considering the possibility of doing a full rebuild, and I'm intrigued about the 3.1 big bore kit. Does anyone have any experience with this kit?
Again, thanks for the help
Gene
joelsplace

Re: New guy with a few questions.....

Post by joelsplace »

I'm guessing you don't have an automatic. Pertronix 2s don't idle properly with Powerglides.
You'll want deep seats installed if it is in your budget.
If I was spending the money to install deep seats I would want to send them to someone that will also weld up the chambers to get proper squish clearance.
I have no experience with the 3.1 but a lot of them have been installed.
157 Corvairs, 5 Ultravans and counting
Northlake, TX
exhogflyer

Post by exhogflyer »

Yes, I do have a PG but didn't notice any difference in idle ( it sucks anyway with a dead cylinder). Can you recommend a machine shop? Thanks!
azdave
Corvair of the Year
Corvair of the Year

Post by azdave »