Newbie here!

New to the site? Introduce yourself here.
CorvAir Force

Newbie here!

Post by CorvAir Force »

Hello everyone, newbie here from Sunny Northern California. I Bought a 1965 Corsa w/ 140 and 4 speed. I pretty much fell in love with the lines of the car (especially with all the windows down. My wife would not let me leave until we bought the car…Nice to have the boss on my side! We were enjoying occasional Sunday drives to wine country and Friday Morale trips to work until the tranny decided not to give me 1st and 2nd. So after dropping the tranny (and pouring gear oil all over myself) and dis-assembly it seems a busted piece of the snap ring tore up the bearing (that holds the clutch gear), shredding two of the balls and littering the whole case with shrapnel. I hope that is the reason for losing a couple of gearsbut needed to be cleaned out anyway…So Clark’s arrived after an anxious 2 day shipping time…my new best friend…but the extra needle bearings I ordered because I am missing ONE were not the right ones. So after tearing up the garage about three times and even straining the gear oil and poking around in it, I am trying to figure out which needle bearings I actually need. So anyhow happy to be here and jumped right into it with both feet.

CorvAir Force (A.K.A. Gary)

P.S. This might also appear on the *other* forum :P)
bbodie52
Corvair of the Month
Corvair of the Month

Re: Newbie here!

Post by bbodie52 »

:welcome2: :wave:
Welcome, Gary, to the Corvair Forum!

I wish that I had experience with rebuilding a manual transmission, but unfortunately is one area of Corvair maintenance that I have never engaged in – even though I have been involved with Corvairs since I was eight years old and have rebuilt several engines and Powerglide automatic transmissions. Perhaps other Corvair Forum members will be able to step up and provide you with assistance.