New member - long time fan!

New to the site? Introduce yourself here.
markdamon63

New member - long time fan!

Post by markdamon63 »

Howdy! (that is what we say in Texas, lol)

First let me tell you a little about how I cam to be in this forum. I was a auto technician for Oldsmobile, Toyota, Volvo and Honda during the early years of me professional career. I have sinced moved to a IT position in the communcations industry.

Enough about that! What about the Corvair? Ok here is the story, My wife's first car was a 1963 Corvair Monza Spyder. Her and her father (now passed away) built the car together and she drove it throughout her high school years. When she graduated high school, she was given a 1975 Olds Cutlass Supreme and the Corvair went back to her dad, who drove it for a few years and then parked it at his shop. The car set there for many years until me and my wife married in 1989. Several years after we married, my wife asked her mom (should have asked dad) if we could get or buy the car so that we could restore it. She refused (was afraid that we would fix it up and sell it). Long story short, the Corvair continued to go down hill, was struck by a fallen tree (breaking out all the glass) and then rusted out beyond repair.

Wife's 25th Anniversary gift in March of 2014!

Fast forward to today - Me and my daughter went on a 500 mile road trip to look at and possibly purchase a Corvair (trip was played up as a "foodie" trip to eat steak at the Beehive Restaruant in Abiline). I have bought the car, a 1963 Corvair Monza Spyder to restore. No rust, all brightwork, engine runs (140hp with 4 speed, not turbo.) I arranged for it to be shipped, titled, insured and stored all without my wife finding out. Now all I have to to is restore the car and keep it hidden from her for 19 months (lol, not going to be easy)

Well that is why I am here! I hope I can lean on this forum to help me make our 25th Anniversary one for the newpaper!

Mark M
East Texas