Corvair Engine Questions

All Models and Years
TORQUER

Corvair Engine Questions

Post by TORQUER »

Guys,
I'm new to corvairs, but not new to Air Cooled engines. Ive owned a few VW's. Now my dad is trying to pick up a 1964 Corvair he found and is going to let me have it to restore. Its a complete car. Pretty well preserved. Ive been browsing around on this forum and have learned alot.
My questions are:

1. How much power and reliability can i achieve from a completely stock setup? I mean concours correct stock engine.
Ive seen some guys adapting EFI to the Vairs, and that interests me because I hate points. Id rather set it and forget it.
2. Does EFi actually improve power or mpg?
3. What are some of the better more respected aftermarket ignition systems for these engines?
4. I fully understand that a stock Corvair cooling system suffices for a stock daily driven setup, but are there any modern improvements I can make to the cooling system?
5. Any other modifications i can do to the engine to reliably increase torque? I'm not going to be building a track day car, but with a 2-speed powerglide i would like the umph to get going on the freeway when needed.
6. Is there anyone out there dropping in a Subaru engine into these cars?

Im not into gimmicks and shinny bits. I like proven reliable parts, and a relatively stock setup.

BTW, I am very well aquainted at this point on how the corvair engine is setup. Its much like a VW engine. Gotta love Air cooled motors. Thanks for any help and suggestions.
"I'LL PUT A POP-KNOT ON YOUR HEAD BIG ENOUGH TO HITCH A TRAILER TO."
marvgarr

Re: Corvair Engine Questions

Post by marvgarr »