Turbocharged street cars/motors

Show of your ride, keep track of your project, watch as others progress on their projects
srt

Turbocharged street cars/motors

Post by srt »

Your experiences? High, quick building boost? Waste gates?

I have experience with smaller (2 liter) water cooled stuff from the early 70s but am wondering what's been done with corvairs.

Driveability. Heat control. Etc.

What have you done, used & found to have been reliable for street use with an occasional weekend freeway cruise?

Sent from my LGLS885 using Corvair Forum mobile app
acarlson

Re: Turbocharged street cars/motors

Post by acarlson »

I've been working my my '65 turbo Corsa 4 speed for about 2 years now. I've completely torn the engine down, split the case, had the crank reground and installed all new forged pistons, full fin cylinders, rings, bearings and seals. Rebuilt the carb and turbo using Clark's rebuild kits. My engine is basically stock - I did not install oversize pistons. I did have the heads machined so I am running a higher cylinder compression then a stock turbo engine. My turbo engine, transmission and differential are out of a '66 Corsa so they are not original to the car.

Some additions I did during my rebuild:

I installed an Innovate Wideband O2 sensor and gauge which makes adjusting the carb easy and monitoring the rich/lean conditions while driving possible.

I installed a Dakota Digital CHT sensor and gauge. I found that the stock CHT gauge was very slow to respond to head temperature changes while driving. The stock gauge might barely move while the DD gauge could show 30 degree swing in temps.

I installed a VDO vacuum/boost gauge. I found that the stock gauge would indicate vacuum just fine but would not register boost from the turbo.