ignition point\spark plugs

All Models and Years
dutchair

ignition point\spark plugs

Post by dutchair »

Hello forummers,

I have a problem with overheating of the engine of my 65 110 hp corvair.

After i've driven a few kilometers the engine is getting very hot ( hot air is coming of the engine when I open the hood :eek: ).

I already cleaned the oil cooler, no dirt under the fan, and the shrouds are open :sad5:

What i did'nt check was the ignition point and spark plugs because the car starts and runs well.
But a mechanic told me that it's possible that the engine becomes hot because the ignition point is wrong and maybe the spark plugs are not the originals.
So my question is: what is the ignition point for a 110 hp engine ? and what spark plugs do i need ? :dontknow:
I haven't got a technical manual, so i can't look it up :sad5:

thank you,

gr, dutchair
GriffinGuru

Re: ignition point\spark plugs

Post by GriffinGuru »

Well I am only an amateur and new to corvairs myself, but I did just check my point gap and timing this weekend and I have a factory manual.

According to the manual the point gap is to be 0.016" for used points and 0.019" for new points. My points were used, but not for a long time: only a 100miles put on by the previous owner after rebuild and I am not driving mine yet because I am trying to get it to run properly after sitting for a few years. I set my gap to 0.016".

I put it on TDC and then with the dist cap and rotor/dust shield off, I rotated the crank to get the point arm right at the peak of the hexagon on distributer shaft. I measured the point gap with a clean feeler guage and loosened the bottom plate just enough to move the point base. I set it so I can insert the feeler and just feel some slight drag as the feeler goes between the points, but is not pushing the breaker arm away as I insert the feeler.