towing a corvair

Anything Corvair related
tamvette68

towing a corvair

Post by tamvette68 »

I'm a newbie and I've posted this question in the intro section but maybe it should be asked here.....I'm trying to tow my first corvair from SC to Louisiana and UHaul will only allow me to rent a tow dolly where you tow on two wheels.....anybody ever done this? I would prefer to tow on a transporter .....
wingnutandme
Corvair of the Month
Corvair of the Month

Re: towing a corvair

Post by wingnutandme »

We have towed 3 on a dolly with a Tacoma PU. We have loaded them frontwards and backwards.Both methods worked. If you load backwards, be sure to secure the steering wheel with something like ratchet straps. DO NOT USE BUNGIE CORDS. Don't ask how I know this. A Corvair Powerglide came be towed with the rear on the ground.
I only tow at 55 to 60 MPH

If you are using a full size PU, you might try telling the U-Haul folks you are towing a Nova or something similar. They will probably rent you a car trailer.
61 Rampside
Ultra Van #328
CORSA, Corvanatics, UVMCC, VCE
Corvanatics Secretary/Treasurer/Newsletter Editor
UVMCC Newsletter Editor
Cosworth & a Vega Kammback
80 TR7 Vert
tamvette68

Post by tamvette68 »

thanks wingnut...this car is automatic....are you sayiing I can tow it with the rear on the ground? anything to disconnect? Although I'm guessing some fish tail will occur with the weight on the ground....dunno
64powerglide

Post by 64powerglide »

U-Haul's web site says the rent trailers for automobile hauling, you should call & ask them what's going on & where in SC you can rent one.

http://www.uhaul.com/Trailers/Auto-Transport-Rental/AT/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
64Powerglide, Jeff Phillips

Kalamazoo, Mi..
DT-VAIR

Post by DT-VAIR »