Fuel gauge issues

Anything Corvair related
morevair

Fuel gauge issues

Post by morevair »

All,

I currently don't have a fuel reading... and others have been pointing me to the sender, which I've got... I was looking closer at the back of the fuel gauge a noticed 3 connections... 2 via connectors and what looks like a ground... I couldn't find anything that might connect to this possible ground... Attached is a pic of the fuel gauge with the 2 connectors connected... is the threaded nut below these connectors need to be attached ? A newbie question, but I am a newbie...
Attachments
20171228_162801.jpg
Jeff M. in Phoenix, AZ
1966 Corsa 140 4-speed
66vairguy

Re: Fuel gauge issues

Post by 66vairguy »

The metal strip hanging below your speedometer lens is the ground plane strap. It goes to each gauge housing and when the cluster is bolted into the dash the strap rubs against the metal dashboard frame. Yeah not the greatest and notorious for causing ground problems with age as things corrode. Many, like myself, run a ground wire from the gauge ground plane to the a good ground under the dash.

Keep in mind the sender must also be grounded and the ground wire went to the body at the gas tank area - it usually is corroded providing a poor ground.

Good luck.
morevair

Post by morevair »

So you're saying that the 3rd threaded bolt/nut is "not" something that needs an attachment... ? I realize the strap is the ground for the cluster...(if you can see, I've removed the surface rust from the tab)... Just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something simple (and Vairs always have grounding issues...) I just need to figure a "good" connection from the strap to the body... Lots of screws are missing... Ace hardware is my new latest Home...

Many thanks...
Jeff M. in Phoenix, AZ
1966 Corsa 140 4-speed
bbodie52
Corvair of the Month
Corvair of the Month

Post by bbodie52 »