Replacing reversed polarity battery

All Models and Years
Megabeccatron

Replacing reversed polarity battery

Post by Megabeccatron »

Ok, I am totally new to cars and forums. It is best to assume I truely know nothing. I will probably get terms very wrong. So here is my first question post... And it's weird.
I bought a '62 coup. Just started getting into it. Noticed that the battery currently installed has the polarity reversed. Let me clarify... Everything is hooked up "correctly", the car runs, but when you look at the battery the terminal marked positive goes to the ground, and the terminal marked negative goes to everything else.
I know I need to replace the battery. I am wondering if when I do that, if it could potentially damage anything?
My ignorance is making wonder if a battery with reversed polarity will put out less "juice"? So when I put on a correct battery, could it then send more power through the system than it is used to and mess a bunch of stuff up?
If it's a dumb question just say so... I promise my feels will not get hurt.
Last edited by Megabeccatron on Sun Oct 15, 2017 3:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
skipvair

Re: Replacing reversed polarity battery

Post by skipvair »

Try polarizing the generator. I haven't done it in years, so look up the exact procedures

Sent from my iPhone using Corvair Forum mobile app
Frank Metasavage

65 Corsa 140 4 speed with Weber IDAs
66 Corsa 140 4 speed Stock
Jim in Wis.

Post by Jim in Wis. »