Carb question

All Models and Years
66corsaguy

Carb question

Post by 66corsaguy »

I've got 66 corsa 4x1 carbs.
I believe my secondaries are not hooked up. I assumed that meant fuel wouldn't pass thru them. Is that an incorrect assumption? Because my driver side secondary fills with fuel (and leaks due to cork gasket being old)

Understanding primaries: I thought one was used for starting and 1st and 2nd gear and than 2nd was used for 3rd and 4th. Is that false? Are both primaries contributing fuel at all times?

One primary helps with starting (throttle plate) my left primary has a little lock bracket on it to hold it in place. The one on the right does not have this plate connected to the arm and no lock. That's correct? It shouldn't be connected and just stays open?
If so my left primary gets me started with throttle plate? So that would be my primary primary haha

Beginner here. Sorry if this is super basic. Just trying to wrap my head around how these sync

Sent from my iPhone using Corvair Forum mobile app
66corsaguy

Re: Carb question

Post by 66corsaguy »

Imagethis is left side. Imagethis is my right side. I'm guessing this is connected to gas pedal so this must be the lead primary. But behind it my throttle plate arm is not connected. Is that correct?

bbodie52
Corvair of the Month
Corvair of the Month

Post by bbodie52 »