New guy in Texas

New to the site? Introduce yourself here.
Joe B

New guy in Texas

Post by Joe B »

Hello all!

I'm new to the Corvair world, more familiar with mid-year Corvettes and 70s Buicks, but have long had a soft spot for '65 on 'Vairs. Missed out on one at auction last summer, found another today. I'm here to educate myself on the care and feeding of the breed and hope to close on one soon. Looking forward to tapping in to your knowledge and experience.

Joe B
bbodie52
Corvair of the Month
Corvair of the Month

Re: New guy in Texas

Post by bbodie52 »

:welcome: :goofywave: :wave: Welcome, Joe, to the Corvair Forum!
Joe B wrote:Going to my girlfriend's for Christmas, passing thru a small town, saw a great looking Corsa on a lot, turned around for a look. 1966 black on black hardtop, silver tail panel, great paint, great interior, NO rust visible anywhere-even under the hood, 4 carbs, factory COLD air, factory am/fm, 4 speed, Crager S/S mags, T/A radials, with a factory Servicator in it. I had never heard of a Servicator, had to Google it. He says he'll take $13k for it. I'm not that familiar with Corvairs, I'm a mid-year Corvette guy, but I've always liked these Corvairs. Is this a reasonable price for this car as described? Sorry, no pictures, but I'll try to get some on the way home and post them later.
From your description, a very clean 1966 Corsa coupe could certainly be worth that price. Corvairs with factory air conditioning are very rare. The factory AM/FM radio is also a rare find (does it, and the air conditioning, work?) If it is a true 1966 Corsa, and not an assembled clone, the VIN should start out with "107376"

Late Car VIN Detail

(1965-1969)