new guy 61 8 door

New to the site? Introduce yourself here.
cfishe5

new guy 61 8 door

Post by cfishe5 »

Just got my first corvair....well corvan i should say. Its a 61 8 door from Reno, Nevada and looks to be totally rust free. it doesnt realy run to well right now so until i feel like messing with the motor, im going to airbag it 1st. I cut the rear tophats off yesterday and flatplated the bottom A arm, looks like a 2500 bag fits like a glove! Easy! By the way...a little about me...i own Vintage Customs in Clearwater,Florida(www.vintage-customs.com) and ive been building 1st class VWs and American Customs for 13 years now. OK back to the project...anyhow, gonna have to make my own shift rod it looks like and im gonna remove the gas tank and use my 66 C-10 behind the seat tank. Im planning on doing this in a 60s custom look so it will be on Asto Supreme wheels and pinner white walls, bellflower dual exhaust, HEAVILY FLAKED roofand middle body lines, with panel laced roof. This will probably become the shop van so logos will be on sides....ill post pics later so wish me luck! Thanks for havin me! Chad
ratfink

Re: new guy 61 8 door

Post by ratfink »

Looking forward to seeing PicS,,,Welcome aboard!
ratfink

Post by ratfink »

Just went to Your site! WOW I'm really looking forward to Your new project!
cfishe5

Post by cfishe5 »

Thanks! im hoping to make this a one of a kind for sure. All my friends are driving Econolines and now that they want them lowered and they see how sweet the corvan setup is..they all wished they bought one of these. lol I cant wait to see it laid out on the ground all 60'd out. Ordered my metalflaked silver steeringwheel today as well....im excited! Im putting a motor in my 46 so i can drive again(my daily driver) so once ive buttoned things up there i can start spending more time and money on the van. Thanks for the encouragement!
Scott H
Site Admin

Post by Scott H »