Greetings from Ray "Grymm" Rodriguez III

New to the site? Introduce yourself here.
Trip

Greetings from Ray "Grymm" Rodriguez III

Post by Trip »

Hello all.

I'm 30 years old this past May and have been into Corvairs for about 9 years now. I currently own my third, fifth, and sixth Corvairs. My stable contains my (pretty darn nice) daily driver 66' Corsa 140 coupe (red on black), a recently aquired 63' Monza 102/PG coupe (white on red) that sat in the open door of a barn since 83' and is now nearly ready for the road, and a 65' Corsa 140 coupe (non-original yellow on black) that I've been occasionally working on for near 5 years now. The 63' Monza is a real quickie project car intended to become my fiance' (Missy)'s daily driver.

My cars are nowhere near perfect, but nicer than what most call a "driver"... I'm an amateur and impatient to boot so nothing I do is perfect and I do most everything myself... I'm also on a very tight budget.

My Corvair journey began in 2001 at 21 years of age. At the time I had recently aquired my dream car... a bright red 1968 (visually near identical to 69') Corvette convertible with a black interior. I sold my previous car, spent every penny I had, took a sizeable loan from the bank, and bought a slightly beat up Corvette that was drivable aside from refusing to idle properly.

Over the next few months I got the Vette' running properly and looking fairly decent with lots of minor repairs mostly done myself with the help of my father. The car continued to get nicer over the next few years (new paint about 2 years in) and I enjoyed it, but something bothered me a bit... Everywhere I went I met derogatory comments about having a "rich daddy" etc.. and the Corvette "enthusiasts" busted my chops about the incorrect (I like wide tires) size tires, air cleaner, valve covers, intake manifold etc... I like custom and Corvette purists do not! All the negative comments were disheartening, but I loved the car.