Confirmed and detailed engine swaps?

All Models and Years
ishigakisensei

Confirmed and detailed engine swaps?

Post by ishigakisensei »

I did a search here and on Google and all I found is a lot of people talking about doing a Subaru swap and one blog that looked like it died in 2010. I'm a civilian teacher (with no engineering skills whatsoever) living in Japan so getting a Subaru engine is quite easy and I can get a Corvair imported if its worth doing so. I'm personally a huge fan of the late model Fitch Sprint, specifically this one in Martin, Tennessee:

and I hope to find one in decent shape for realistic money (shipping to Japan ain't free) some day soon. Getting parts and paint won't be too hard with some of my connections, but what concerns me is a great deal of trial-and-error custom fabricating that costs more here than in the US. This is why I ask if there exists a "kit" of some kind that exists but may not be posted here.

The Corvair doesn't need Corvette power, but it could use more. Does something exist for those who would like an engine swap or is this is a case of more talk than engineering/money? I have some money but absolutely no engineering abilities on my own.
azdave
Corvair of the Year
Corvair of the Year

Re: Confirmed and detailed engine swaps?

Post by azdave »

I won't sugarcoat my reply. No such kits exists. Even if you find an old Kelmark or Crown V8 kit you have quite a bit of fabrication to complete. That is why you see so many projects start but few will reach completion. A swap like a Subie or other more unique power system is rare and always a one-off venture. It is a whole lot of work to do one completely and many people give up or run out of funds/skills halfway through the project. You will end up with a chopped up car that gets sold years later for way under what you have invested. Think hard before you undertake such a venture. It can certainly be done if you have the drive and funds to keep at it.
Dave W. from Gilbert, AZ