Slotted Belts?

All Models and Years
riversidevair

Slotted Belts?

Post by riversidevair »

I've had the '65 Sport Sedan for a couple of years now, but I'm still a novice! Only prior Corvair experience was occasionally driving a pristine '63 Monza sedan (102hp) that my dad had purchased from an elderly neighbor in the mid-60s. Styling of the '63 was elegant, clean and functional. The roof line was a good downsizing of the big GM cars ("Honey, I just shrank the Invicta"). I liked that car so much that when I was finally about to finish grad school in '68, I visited a big Chevy dealership in Glendale, CA, asked to see and perhaps drive a new Monza. I was quickly sent away with an armload of unwanted Chevy Nova literature. This '65 was located through an online dealership in North Carolina, has been a real pleasure to own and drive. Even my wife approves. The forum, corvaircorsa.com and the great vendors have helped a lot.

The car has fewer than 20k miles. Along with the chrome air cleaner cover (purely vanity) and the Dutch-made 7.00-13 radials, one of the relatively few non-original bits and pieces is (not surprisingly) the fan belt. From the forum, I find that the tension is about right (using the alternator "slip" test). Everything works and sounds as it should. But the belt is the slotted or notched type. It's noticeably wider than the spare that just arrived from Clark's. It doesn't seem to be seated completely in apex of the V-grooves in the alternator and crankshaft pulleys, so that it lies just about flush with the outer edges of those pulleys. On the other hand, I've read that slotted belts flex more freely than other belts, might run cooler and longer.

Any compelling reason to swap out the slotted belt ASAP? Or is it OK to run it a while longer, since there isn't obvious slipping or worse?

Thanks.
Attachments
IMG_0441.jpg
IMG_0895.jpg
IMG_0897.jpg
Gil Zimmerman
Southern CA
cad-kid

Re: Slotted Belts?

Post by cad-kid »

Great photos!