Broken Rocker Stud

Anything Corvair related
Auto Anatomy

Broken Rocker Stud

Post by Auto Anatomy »

I SWEAR I was just riding down the interstate when I heard a loud bang and the engine started running terribly. I could have bet money the engine popped, but thankfully it was just a broken rocker stud.

The engine is nearly stock with a 270 cam and Isky valve springs.

I'm the guy that always builds back better, even if it means somewhat overkill for a mild street engine. I've seen chatter about ARP rocker studs but can't seem to find any information on them.

Is there anyone who has a set of ARP rocker studs they'd like to sell, or a line on any?

Thanks!

Sean
IMG_0292.jpeg
IMG_0291.jpeg
I'm a pulmonary/critical care nurse practitioner that is passionate about bringing classic cars back to life.

www.youtube.com/autoanatomy
www.facebook.com/autoanatomyUS
caraholic4life

Re: Broken Rocker Stud

Post by caraholic4life »

Contact Ken Hand aka Vairmech,

While at the Helen Springfest event a couple weeks ago, Ken had on hand some of his Roller Rocker sets as well as his "Shaft Mount Roller Rocker Kits"

These may be just what you are looking for. Ken prefers e-mail as communication through a P.M. may be slower.

I don't recall ever seeing a rocker stud fail like that in a Corvair but apparently it has happened as shown in your photo.

Here is contact information Ken has as a part of his signature.

Ken Hand
Handy Car Care
248 613 8586

YS-318
Vairmech@aol.com
1962 95 FC Van
1964 Greenbrier Deluxe
1965 Monza Coupe
1965 Monza Convertible
Mid Engine enthusiast &
Prior Kelmark Owner
toms73novass

Post by toms73novass »

Was this a original or a new aftermarket? I have heard of the repop ones breaking.

Also, if the rockers are aftermarket did you check that there was plenty of room in the lower slot that it would not contact the stud at the higher lift of your cam.
1962 700 Wagon
1963 Spyder convertable
1965 Monza
1967 UltraVan 211
Auto Anatomy

Post by Auto Anatomy »