cylinder prep: ball hone vs flapper wheel

All Models and Years
dave t

cylinder prep: ball hone vs flapper wheel

Post by dave t »

Can I use the flapper wheel to prep the cylinders instead of using a ball hone? I will guess that it will take longer per cylinder but my time is less expensive that purchasing a ball hone for a one time job.

I was given a nice set of pistons & cylinders for my FC 110 build. They came out of a 200 mile engine where the crank broke. they all look almost new. I intend to install new chrome rings. I was told to prep the cylinders using a ball hone to give them a cross hatch to aid in the ring break-in. I have an abrasive flapper wheel in my stock of tools. A ball hone goes for about $50.00 (give or take) on line.

My background:
1964 Greenbrier Deluxe 6-door
New paint
Rebuilt suspension, 4-speed trans & 3:55 diff.
1 year old rebuilt engine fried due to oil pressure regulator stuck and no oil pressure.

I am a parts guy by trade. I have a good knowledge of the entire Corvair due to my knowledge of the associated parts. I have taken a long block to a complete installation but I just have no experience with subtleties of the engine interior. This is my first total engine rebuild.

I welcome your input & opinions
terribleted

Re: cylinder prep: ball hone vs flapper wheel

Post by terribleted »

Neither is really ideal. The cylinder should be installed in a proper jig and installed type pressure applied before honing or boring. That said for the minimal make a new scratch so new rings will seat that you need either should be fine. be sure to measure for proper skirt to cylinder clearances before assembly. Too much slop will ruin some pistons and jugs really fast.
Corvair guy since 1982. I have personally restored at least 20 Vairs, many of them restored ground up.
Currently working full time repairing Corvairs and restoring old cars.
https://www.facebook.com/tedsautorestoration/

Located in Snellville, Georgia
Scott V

Post by Scott V »