Hello Corvair Gurus...

New to the site? Introduce yourself here.
Metal twister

Hello Corvair Gurus...

Post by Metal twister »

Hello all. I'm new here out of necessity. :banghead: I am a custom car builder in San Diego and have a few projects that I need to utilize Corvair engines in. As a kid back in the early 70's I ran 140 Corvair engines in my sand cars and just loved them. Ive forgotten just about everything about them with the exception of how good of engine they were. Im here to re acquaint myself with this wonderful little power plant and an occasional question or nudge in the right direction.
Change is Opportunity
bbodie52
Corvair of the Month
Corvair of the Month

Re: Hello Corvair Gurus...

Post by bbodie52 »

:welcome2: :wave: Welcome to the Corvair Forum! As a custom car builder, I hope you will post some pictures to show us some of your favorite work!!

The 140hp four carburetor engine is certainly a great performance engine in the Corvair, and more tractable for the most part than the more temperamental 150/180hp turbocharged engine. However, the big valve 140hp engine is somewhat more-rare than its little brother — the 110hp dual carburetor engine found in 1964-1969 Corvairs. Both the 110hp and 140hp units share the same displacement (164 Cubic Inches) and the same bottom end (short block) with the same camshaft. The primary difference is in the cylinder heads, with larger valves, 2 primary and 2 secondary carburetors, and dual exhaust in the 140hp unit. The 140hp heads have started to develop a reputation for dropping valve seats in recent years.