2 "new to me" Corvairs

New to the site? Introduce yourself here.
Atrayyu

2 "new to me" Corvairs

Post by Atrayyu »

Hello all... I just picked up (2) 1963 Corvairs. The red one came with 2 engines torn apart with manual trannys and the gold one came "running" with the Automatic tranny.

I'm new to Corvairs as my family is mostly into Mopar. I'm about to order a new carb setup from CarbMeister and put this gold one on the road.

Does anyone have recommendations for an engine rebuilder? or should I just rebuild them myself. I'm a former Jet Engine Technician from the Air Force and can tackle it myself with the proper documentation, but wouldn't mind just being able to "Drop it in" after it was professionally rebuilt.
Attachments
20201124_100513.jpg
azdave
Corvair of the Year
Corvair of the Year

Re: 2 "new to me" Corvairs

Post by azdave »

Welcome!

A properly rebuilt engine could cost you anywhere from $4K and up. A refreshed engine is much less but you get what you pay for. I've had really good luck finding non-runners on CL or from local club members and putting those engines back in service after a good evaluation and reseal. I enjoy the challenge of resurrecting an old engine as opposed to shelling out $1000's for a fully rebuilt engine. The factory manual is pretty good at pointing you in the right direction and of course online forums can answer specific questions.